belleh

Feb 19, 2011
Hi Everyone
Newbie here, so firstly wanted to say Hi and congratulations on an amazing and informative forum.
Have found so much great information so far lingering in the shadows :icon_biggrin:

I am returning to Bali in August for 6 months.At the moment i am not looking at being an "expat" just engaging in some extended holiday time over the next few years on/off and see how things go.

Just wondering if you could possibly clarify a few things for me in relation to motorbike/car licences if you have had any previous experience with it.
I am getting very mixed reports about some aspects of Licences and these are mainly
on "travel" forums as opposed to an "expat" one like this which i think may have a little more life experience in relation to same.

1: If i have an Australian International Drivers Licence can I hire a car in a bali to self drive or would i need a Balinese licence?

2:I havent had the time to get my motorcycle licence here in Australia so would like to get it from the tourist police station.As i will be getting a licence valid in "relevant" country and actually taking a test, will i be covered for insurance purposes?

3: Is it true that you can get your motorcycle licence from the tourist police station at Petitinget now? as opposed to going into Denpasar?

Thanks

ronb

Aug 14, 2007
Ubud, Bali
For (1) the answer is yes, an international license is OK, for (2) and (3) - I don't know.

spicyayam

Jan 12, 2009
will i be covered for insurance purposes?

This is something you really need to check the fine print on your policy, or even better asking your insurance company directly.

belleh

Feb 19, 2011
This is something you really need to check the fine print on your policy, or even better asking your insurance company directly.

thanks spicyayam......yes i have already, rung 3 in fact and always get the same ambiguous answer unfortunately.