User638193628291836

Feb 2, 2021
Hi everyone! I am a student from Ireland currently studying to be a teacher. I am hoping to move to Bali when I graduate and teach English there. I’m wondering do you think this is realistic? I’m sure teaching jobs are competitive but I will have a BEd and I also am TEFL certified. I have some experience teaching from pre-service placements and summer jobs too.
Do you think I could find work as a teacher in Bali or is teaching online a better option?
I do also have some tattoos, I’m not sure if that would be frowned upon in Bali for a teacher.

spicyayam

Jan 12, 2009
I think you would need experience, not only a requirement for the school but also for your working visa. Also it is a difficult time to travel, so I would suggest getting some experience at home and basically you can then work anywhere in the world.

JackStraw

Mar 14, 2017
I HIGHLY advise against this. As someone who once flirted with the idea years ago and also know many friends from the UK who actually made the leap to teaching abroad, I haven't heard one success story yet (maybe you'll be the first though?).

If you've just graduated from University and have a year to throw away, then great. Go for it and keep it to a year only. If you're looking for something long term, then you will only wind up at the age of 30 with a giant gap in your resume and no savings to your name.

Believe it or not, teaching English abroad isn't so attractive to potential employers back in your native country (wherever it is). And you won't be making a huge salary teaching English in Bali. If you manage to save any of your income, it won't be much and as someone approaching retirement myself, I urge you the earlier you start putting away LARGE chunks of change, the easier your life will be later.