Greetings, Moving to Bali, Books, Books and More Books ;-)

Globalb365

May 19, 2018
Greetings,

I will be moving to Bali in about six months give or take and have what is probably not that unique of a situation but thought I would ask. I know Bali does not have a deep water port so containers are out of the question. I am not bringing much, just my office equipment, computers, scanners, photo equipment, usual, but I also want to bring my library, about 5,000 +- books. I know, I Know....everyone says dont bring books, too humid, blah, blah, blah....but I am a publisher and this is my personal metaphysical library I have been building for 20 years so I'm bringing it damn it ;-)

I contacted a shipper my MIL uses to ship to the Philippines all the time and is very happy with and they have an office in Bali..but of course I need a Kitas or they wont ship. Any suggestions on how to ship? and dont say leave them behind..I am already leaving my black beauty Honda Shadow behind and it's killing me...lol

Appreciate the learned input

Barry

davita

Mar 13, 2012
Hi Globalb365...welcome to the forum and Bali when you arrive.

There isn't any problem shipping your stuff to Indonesia/Bali but be prepared to have a plausible answer to why you are shipping all this otherwise customs will create issues...and see big bucks.
You haven't said the reason you are coming to Bali. If work related, or just a visit, either will have influence on why you need to import this amount of equipment.
Moving to a new country isn't easy and Indonesia makes it difficult .....but good luck.

Mark

Apr 19, 2004
Good luck with the move Barry. Do note that even with Kitas you will have to pay duty on your shipment. Without Kitas, forget about bringing anything other than what you can check on to the flight.

matsaleh

Super Moderator
May 26, 2004
Legian, Bali