clm

Oct 19, 2016
Hello.

Currently doing research about how to spend a year or two in Bali and have found that the SosBud visa would be an option. Don't understand why do people have to waste time every month to go to the office (or multiple times with a week between), but I guess that's how inefficient and bureaucratic government works.
Anyhow, from all the different places I have read, each says that you can get a SosBud for 60 days and extend it 4 times.
But when I went to the (I think) official Indonesian Immigration webpage - ".." (dang, as a newbie, I can't post links yet :-] ) - it says that the 'Visit Visa' can be extended 5(five) times.

As I was looking up the requirements in Indonesian embassy in Portugal, their webpage - it also says it can be extended 5 times.

Is this something new, or is it due to the maximum limit of 180 days, and in case of the first visa being given for 30 not 60 days, those would have 5 options to extend?
(Why can't they have a 90day visa, with 90 day extension if a person wants it. Just add up the price and avoid the time waste. Too much European efficiency in me I guess..)

Thanks.

Markit

Sep 3, 2007
Karangasem, Bali
Avoid all that BS and just get an agent to do it for you. Give them your passport (and some money) and carry on blamelessly chasing small brown women and drinking large brown beers.

Bali IDE (Yani) are good.

Reactions: jiker69

davita

Mar 13, 2012
Hi clm and welcome to the forum.

A Sosial Budaya (Sosbud) is available but needs to be initially applied at an RI Embassy/Consul outside of Indonesia. It needs a sponsor (someone living in Indonesia). It's valid for 90 days prior to entering Indonesia and, after entering, lasts for 60 days. It can be extended within Indonesia at the nearest immigration office of the sponsors KTP, 4 X 30 days to a total of 180 days.
Then leave Indonesia and return on another Sosbud or some other visa.

clm

Oct 19, 2016
Hi davita, thank you for the warm welcome.