pauloverseas

Bert Vierstra

Nov 5, 2002
Homeless
Looking at my statistics i found that pauloverseas (aka Paul Wallace) is one of the terms used to find this forum :shock:

From Pauls website:

calendar : 11-Sep to 31-Oct, Bali, Indonesia
Return to Bali for several weeks, conducting research into the use of ICTs for community development and e-Learning.

Paul, could you you tell us something, why and how you will do research like this in Bali... :?:

pauloverseas

Apr 5, 2004
Tokyo/Indo
paul.onestop.net
Wow, a thread named after me... that was a surprise :shock: I thought I was in trouble :wink: !

Although I have started a couple of threads here, I suppose I never did introduce myself and my interest in Indonesia.

As for my story... Originally from the US, I've been working in Japan since 1998. My background is in Instructional Technology, and I came to Japan to work at a university (in a beautiful rural setting) on e-learning systems, wrote books, and also taught courses on e-business technologies.

About 4 years ago I moved to the "big city", Tokyo, to work in IT consulting and training -- primarily in mobile Internet systems. My focus is on user experience architecture for "presence" (spatial and temporal), e.g., applications for Internet-connected mobile phones that are aware of services (or people, educational resources, etc.) in the user's immediate vicinity.

My interest in Indonesia started about 3 years ago, on a spur-of-the-moment vacation to Bali. That trip made a huge impression on me. I didn't quit my job immediately on returning to Tokyo, but I did reevaluate my life and career focus. Then took the better part of last year off to surf and travel in Australia and Java -- and returning from the most recent trip, I decided to make a plan for getting the hell out of Tokyo and ending the rat race for me!