marriage visa & stuff

Brett

Jan 7, 2004
Hello all,
My name is Brett, I am an architect from Melbourne, Australia. The last couple of years I have been seeing an Indonesian girl named Mega. She has been working as an airline hostess in Saudi Arabia for the last year. Anyway recently we had hade enough of the whole long distance relationship thing and decided to make a commitment to each other a get married. Anyway when we looked at the time it took to process a marriage visa to Australia we were shocked (9-12 months) so we started applying for a student visa (as mega wanted to continue study in aust) but we found this to was going to be a waste of time as we did not have the required funds in the bank to support the application.
So where we are at now is that we will be getting married on the 16th of Jan in Bali. We will then be applying for a marriage visa and crossing our fingers.
The problem is Mega can not come to Australia until the visa is granted. So we have 2 options.. firstly I could continue living in Melbourne and visit for a long weekend every month. Or I could move to Bali until the visa is granted. Although I have enough money to just come to Bali and sit on my ass I do not believe this would be good for either of us. Ultimately I would love to get an architecture job in bali but i understand the chances of that are very slim (as I am only 25 years old) I have extensive knowledge in computer 3d modelling and web page design.. so this may also be an option.
I have been reading all of your posts in the last few weeks and was just wondering if anyone could give me some advise. I am definately willing to move to Bali, but I don't want to waste all my savings and just sit on my ass. I would appreciate any help anyone could give me

Thanks
Brett

Roy

Nov 5, 2002
Ubud, Bali