spicyayam

Jan 12, 2009
Just wondering how popular this is in Bali.

Also is Bali a good place for kite surfing in comparison with other destinations in Asia? I know it is quite big in Vietnam (Mui Ne) for example.

kitesurfbali

May 25, 2009
Hello there,
in Bali at the moment we are about 30 to 40 resident kiters between Indonesian and Expatriate.
We even have an informative web site http://www.bali-kitesurfing.org to cater for visitor and locals alike.
Is getting more and more popular and the place to be is Kitebeach in Sanur.
Windy season is a bit late this year but looks like is going to start before the end of May.
YOu need a bigger kite the 10m.. Mostly we use a 14m flat for a rider of 70-80 kilos.
Hope this can help.
Bye Jankie

samsiam

Feb 2, 2014
Old thread...but can anyone tell me how much a second hand complete kit, or new with a good deal...will cost for a complete beginner ?

Beginner meaning never before...180cm tall and 80kg's.

I ran into a couple of guys last year at Canggu and they said the equipment was quite expensive there to buy, think he mentioned a price of $3k for his kit, but not 100% on that.

If so expensive thinking to get a kit here and bring with me.

Also lessons...any idea how much ?

samsiam

Feb 2, 2014
In case anyone else interested....got a price for lessons at 500k for 2 hours.

A kite kit, not include board, around $900.

Anyone have first hand experience ?

Smoke

Dec 3, 2011
Sanur
I helped fly a kite for about 5 minutes during the kite festival in Sanur. No idea on cost of anything.When you get here maybe check with local Banjars and see if they have a kite flying group..

matsaleh

Super Moderator
May 26, 2004
Legian, Bali
You been into the Bintangs again, Smoke? Samsiam is asking about kite surfing, not kite flying. :eagerness:

normal_051945d5ee6cb27daa5646cfeb5c9ebe.jpg

Smoke

Dec 3, 2011
Sanur
my eyes are playing tricks on me (along with the Bingtang helping )