Building In Ubud

Derek Barkas

May 28, 2017
Greetings everyone
Total newbies in here, So a massive HI and a Thankyou in advance for any assistance tips or advice passed our way!
Ok : we are selling all we have to relocate to our beloved Ubud / Bali .. and pursue some ideas.
We have several business ideas to develop but the main core of the move is to build a home ( part block and part reclaimed joglo/ gladak or similar , together with a couple of gladak rentals on same plot of land .
Having trawled forums, websites, social media etc there never seems to a concrete way to do this. What I'm reading is we will need to source and register a specific IMB for bed and breakfast or is that not needed as part of our home?
Also we're seeing conflicting views on building regarding trust and reliance of local trades.
I'm from a design build background and very knowledgable on contractual methods , which will help , but I'm reading there are still going to be challenges .. this Is also ok and I'm prepared for this . Payment terms and contingencies etc will be firmly adhered to and never up front after first payment which will cover costs only for materials . BOQ will be pre agreed as will the basic structure.
The land we are intending to rent for 20-30 years with legal notaris involved including legal checks to avoid loopholes etc.
Our intention is to rent a property and " land" in Bali for a good few months to research meet and appoint relevant parties . No rush !:)
It may be we find a house we like with land and develop the gladaks or guest extensions as we go..
we will employ local friends to run the whole thing with us in background .

So I guess , What I'm asking is this,
Anyone with experience of running guest rooms in Bali as part of their home?( Air band b for example )
-Taxes ( we will run the B and B and all businesses remotely from Europe and pY taxes there)
IMB type and legalities
Best internet speed and supplier Ubud
How much electricity.. 7000 kw enough?