Best VPN for watching tv

spicyayam

Jan 12, 2009
Does anyone have a recommendation for a VPN with Australian IPs? Also if it works with Netflix that would be great also.

JohnnyCool

Jan 10, 2009
Sanur
Does anyone have a recommendation for a VPN with Australian IPs? Also if it works with Netflix that would be great also.

I thought we more or less covered the issue of sites like Netflix blocking ISP addresses (and various VPNs) to get around geo-blocking. It is still a game of whack-a-mole and likely to continue until…?

I’ve been using IpVanish for a couple of years and find it works well for me. Currently, it has 58 servers in Sydney and two in Melbourne. I’m not interested in Netflix, etc, so can’t say if it works for that. Just like I don’t know if any VPNs these days can do that. (Some did/do for a while, then don’t, then do again.)

Someone here recently was suggesting getting a VPN in order to watch Australia Plus TV. My understanding is that Australia Plus TV is not available in Australia, so I can't see how connecting to an Australian server would do anything.

Reactions: spicyayam

DenpasarHouse

Aug 13, 2013
Someone here recently was suggesting getting a VPN in order to watch Australia Plus TV. My understanding is that Australia Plus TV is not available in Australia, so I can't see how connecting to an Australian server would do anything.

I think you're referring to me, but I'm not sure. Just in case, I wasn't suggesting watching Australia Plus over a VPN, I was suggesting using the FreeviewFV App over a VPN. See here: http://www.freeview.com.au/freeviewfv/

JohnnyCool

Jan 10, 2009
Sanur
I think you're referring to me, but I'm not sure. Just in case, I wasn't suggesting watching Australia Plus over a VPN, I was suggesting using the FreeviewFV App over a VPN. See here: http://www.freeview.com.au/freeviewfv/