Basa Bali lessons??

lientje

Oct 25, 2006
Australia/Bali
G'day,

My name is Paulien. I'm a newbie with this forum. Great to be part of it!!
:D

I have a question about learning Basa Bali:

Does anybody out there know where I might be able to learn Basa Bali in Bali...as in lessons? I am really embarrassed that my grasp on the language is so limited. I will be starting to kerja-sama with a Yayasan in December this year (plan for up to 3 years).

The Yayasan work will involve visiting many people in remote areas. I would love to be able to talk with more poeple by being better at speaking Basa Bali, but despite over 10 years love affair with the island, I rely too much on Bhs Indonesia. :oops:

Although I realise that the best way to learn is just to start speaking it as much as possible...a boost in the right direction (ie some more 'formal' lessons) would be magic.... :wink:

Would be grateful for any suggestions!

"Paulien

bukit

Aug 4, 2006
Australia
I can speak a fair bit of bahasa bali kasar I learned from my balinese wife. What was also of great help was my little bahasa bali kamus "BALINESE GRAMMAR DIGEST"by N.Shadeg My ones falling apart from constant use.Printed 1992 Sadly I did hear mr N Shadeg passed away early this year . if you can find a copy of this great little book it will be of great help

bukit

Aug 4, 2006
Australia
Its my wifes we have had it since we met .I 'd like to get a new one too. About 3 years ago I saw a copy's for sale at super nova kuta up stairs in the book secton wish I'd got another then!!! :cry: :lol: :lol:

Roy

Nov 5, 2002
Ubud, Bali
Paulien, welcome to the forum. Since you are already proficient in Bahasa Indonesia, it should be easy enough for you to secure a tutor to learn Bahasa Bali. Your observation that Bahasa Bali may be an added advantage to communicate with local Balinese in remote areas is well understood. I only wonder to what extent is it necessary