Renting an affordable house in Bali

Kyle

Apr 13, 2017
Okay,

Perhaps you can help.

I'm seeking an affordable house to rent in Bali. My online search so far has been quite bad, with many properties being advertised for *huge* prices.

I am seeking something in the 400-500USD/mth range. I am a writer and I need to work from home so space and internet are important. Is this idea even feasible? I don't want to travel to SE Asia only to discover that I can't afford it.

Thanks,

K-

ps. I'm from Canada

davita

Mar 13, 2012
Hi Kyle and welcome...I'm from Vancouver myself but permanently live in Bali now.
It is difficult to simply answer you as all individuals have different interpretations of 'affordability' as everyone has different standards. i.e. My driver lives in a 1 room 'Kos' for about C$60/month but I could never live like that.
My advice is to come to Bali as a tourist (cheap hotels abound) for a week or two and look around.
Many grocery stores/restos/pubs/even telegraph poles have local adverts to view and you will get a feel for the place and its 'affordability'.
Another way is to search for a 'guest house'. Local food is cheap as are scooters to rent, in Bali.
BTW you will need an appropriate visa and work permit if you wish to work in Indonesia....and those aren't easy to attain.
Good luck!

tel522

Oct 30, 2015
davita is right , the best way is to arrive here choose an economic hotel and rent a scooter and do some research .
It all depends on your taste and choice of areas , for example in the bukit and nusa dua areas for your budget you will find plenty of 1 and 2 bedroom houses inside your budget , but you will need to do some searching .

good luck!

Markit

Sep 3, 2007
Karangasem, Bali